Top Goal Scorers

The table below shows the top goal scorers per season

The table is work in process and if you would like to add some detail please use the Contact Us form.

SeasonPlayer(s)Goals ScoredNotes
1906/07Not known
1907/08Not known
1908/09Not known
1909/10Not known
1910/11Not known
1911/12Not known
1912/13Not known
1913/14Not known
1914/15Not known
1915/19No games played due to suspension of league (WW1)
1919/20Not known
1920/21Albert Fairclough15
1921/22Jimmy Evans10All 10 of Jimmy Evans goals were scored via penalties
1922/23Billy Goodwin22
1923/24Billy Goodwin11
1924/25Jimmy McClelland21
1925/26William Shaw21
1926/27Billy Hick29
1927/28Billy Hick26
1928/29Jimmy Shankly35
1929/30Fred Baron22
1930/31Jimmy Shankly28
1931/32Jimmy Shankly20
1932/33Jack Morfitt21
1933/34Leo Stevens21
1934/35Harry Johnson22
1935/36Harry Lane17
1936/37Billy Dickinson19
1937/38Tudor Martin18
1938/39Alf Smirk18
1939/40*Sam Bell, Jack Ormandy and one own goal3 goals scored (One per named player and one OG).*1939/45 – The Football League and FA Cup were suspended until after the Second World War
1939/45****1939/45 – The Football League and FA Cup were suspended until after the Second World War
1945/46Alf Smirk1Alf Smirk scored the only goal in the FA Cup first round against Watford on Saturday 17th November 1945 (Away 1-1 Draw). Southend United later went on to lose in the 2nd round against the same opponent on Saturday 24th Novemebr 1945. The scored was 0-3 seeing Southend exit the cup.
1946/47Cyril Thompson27
1947/48Cyril Thompson14
1948/49Frank Dudley12
1949/50Albert Wakefield28
1950/51Les Stubbs19
1951/52Albert Wakefield21
1952/53Cyril Grant13
1953/54Ken Bainbridge12
1954/55Roy Hollis32
1955/56Roy Hollis26
1956/57Roy Hollis20
1957/58Sammy McCrory33
1958/59Bud Houghton20
1959/60Dudley price29
1960/61Peter Corthine, Jim Fryatt16
1961/62Ken Jones13
1962/63Ken Jones19
1963/64Mike Beesley13
1964/65Bobby Gilfillan23
1965/66Eddie Firmani20
1966/67Ray Smith19
1967/68Phil Chisnall, John McKinven17
1968/69Billy Best31
1969/70Billy Best24
1970/71Billy Best22
1971/72Bill Garner26
1972/73Chris Guthrie15
1973/74Stuart Brace20
1974/75Chris Guthrie17
1975/76Peter Silvester23
1976/77Stuart Parker16
1977/78Derrick Parker23
1978/79Derrick Parker12
1979/80Derrick Parker10
1980/81Derek Spence21
1981/82Keith Mercer13
1982/83Steve Phillips20
1983/84Steve Phillips17
1984/85Steve Phillips23
1985/86Richard Cadette25
1986/87Richard Cadette30
1987/88David Crown17
1988/89David Crown29
1989/90David Crown23
1990/91Brett Angell26
1991/92Brett Angell23
1992/93Stan Collymore18
1993/94Ricky Otto15
1994/95Gary Jones, Andy Thomson11
1995/96Dave Regis9
1996/97Andy Rammell10
1997/98Jeroen Boere14
1998/99Rob Newman8
1999/2000Martin Carruthers19
2000/01Ben Abbey, Martin Carruthers, David lee10
2001/02Tes Bramble13
2002/03Mark Rawle12
2003/04Leon Constantine25
2004/05Freddy Eastwood24
2005/06Freddy Eastwood25
2006/07Freddy Eastwood16
2007/08Nicky Bailey12
2008/09Lee Barnard11
2009/10Lee Barnard17
2010/11Barry Corr21
2011/12Ryan Hall14
2012/13Britt Assombalonga, Gavin Tomlin16
2013/14Barry Corr13
2014/15Barry Corr16
2015/16Jack Payne9
2016/17Simox Cox16
2017/18Simox Cox10
2018/19Simox Cox15